Skip to content

Introductions…

February 14, 2007

Hi there everyone in the group.

A little introduction then, and some info on what I think about felxible learning so far…

I’m Rachel, and I teach photography in the Art School. My education consists of a BA(Hons) in Photography and PgDip in Multimedia Technology. I am quite happy working my way round computers, and have done some web site and graphic design in the past. Here is a web site I designed and built – Stills And here is my other blog that I started after attending Leigh’s flexible learning workshops last year.

My other blog is in blogger so I thought I would try wordpress for this one. The main reason is that blogger won’t allow you to upload any files other than image files (jpeg, gif and png) and I found this very restrictive. I’m looking forward to sharing my pdf’s with you…

I agree with Leigh when he said that the interface to wordpress isn’t as inherent to use. It’s initially a bit clunky finding your way around and they seem to send an awful lot of e-mails in-between steps…i’m going to look about switching some of those off. But, I appear to have managed without too much trouble so I suppose it is mostly just old habits…and change is good!

If you do look at my other blog you will see that I only average out at about 1 post a month – so I better get on that. I think part of the reason that I don’t do it more often is that it doesn’t feel like ‘work’. It feel like an extra-curricular activity that always falls off the list when one is too busy. It’s the same way I used to feel about e-mails and doing anything online during work-hours. But as that becomes more and more how people communicate, you have to acknowledge it in your work day. I need to slip my 15mins of blogging into my diary.

And on that – my 15mins is up now. see you soon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 14, 2007 8:47 pm

    yippy kye aye mudda …. look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

